1740 W. Carroll Ave.  |  Chicago  |  IL  |  60612
Phone: 312.376.3770 | efax: 312.376.3554
Hours: 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM  Monday – Friday

Still & Motion
Equipment Rentals
Studio Rentals
Sales and Tech Services

You are here: Home Resources Photo Assistants

 

If you are a Photo Assistant in the Chicago area and want to be listed on this page, please contact us.

Below is an aid in choosing an assistant based on a self proclaimed experience level. Assistants are classified into three categories: 1st, 2nd and 3rd.  Scroll through for an explanation of experience levels.  To contact an assistant, simply click on the assistants name which links to their email address. 

 

1st Assistant

Experience level is the highest.  You are familiar with just about all lighting sources on the market, familiar with just about all grip gear and nomenclature associated with the job.  You are able to handle jobs by yourself if needed and able to anticipate and communicate photographers needs while being to direct 2nd and 3rd assistants.

 (click on name to send an email)

Johnny McGuire 312-404-7200 www.johnpatrickmcguire.com
Derick Smith 773-209-7028 N/A
Craig Bender 219-608-2854   craig_bender_FB
Tim Blokel 708-837-7952   www.stickdigital.net
Bob Wolgemuth 312-925-9759 N/A
John Jennings 630-853-4120   www.jenningsjohn.com
Ryan Bringas 630-864-7209   www.ryanbringas.com
Naomi Chu 773-817-1626 www.nchuphoto.com
John Burdett 312-882-1863   N/A
Scott Curtis 312-656-9687 www.scottcurtis.com
Aaron Fulnecky 574-536-3324   N/A
Mike Shimer 630-430-7438 www.mikeshimer.com
Kristina Archer 734-776-3064 www.kristynaarcher.com
Mark J. Doddato 708-207-0366 www.markdoddato.com
Evan Barr 269-330-4615 www.evanbarr.com
Brent Misner 773-895-0163 N/A
Sarah Crump 312-912-3712 www.sarahcrump.com
Sheri Flynn 312-307-0441 www.flynnworks.com
Kristie Kahns 312-217-4261 www.kristiekahns.com
Donte Tatum 312-399-4330 www.ddtphoto.com
A J Kane 312-848-7376 www.ajassists.com
Benji Aird 770-362-2729 www.airdography.com
Cristen Leifheit 630-664-5915 N/A
Thomas Vangel 773-301-2222 www.thomasvangel.com
Joe Bankmann 773-793-0287 www.joebankmann.com
Lauren Butterfiled 206-660-9126 N/A
Travas Machel 724-350-9858   www.travasmachel.com
Ben Speckmann 312-909-8826   www.speckmanphoto.com
Jon Wes 407-461-6113   www.jonwes.com
Dub Swinehart 646-281-5377   www.dubswinehart.com
John Ruzich 219-308-5069   www.johnruzich.com
Courtney Rader 937-304-3205   www.crazyroomstudios.com
Jose M. Becerra 512-484-2401   www.jmbphotos.com
Nathanael Filbert 312-504-9795   N/A
Joanna Baum 312-576-2452   www.jcastanedaphotography.com
Austin M. Sosa 805-722-8085   www.sosaphoto.com
Lucas Anti 562-522-0828 N/A
Josh Darr 773-727-8845   www.slowlife-exhibit.tumblr.com
John Stock 973-650-3215   www.johnstock.us
Nathan Steinbach 815-440-7407   www.nathansteinbach.com
Justin Butzen 630-388-9772   www.justinbutzen.com
Robert Carani 312-469-0620   www.rcarani.com
Luke Schneider 847-226-3613   www.lukeschneiderphotography.com
Elizabeth Monge 773-414-4659   www.elizabethmongephoto.com
Anne Klemmer 630-624-4314   N/A
Josh P. Groth 262-573-0321   www.joshpgroth.com
Marina Paul 872-232-9367   www.marinapaulphotography.com
Olivia Kohler 734-945-9867   www.oliviakohlerphotography.com

 

 

 2nd Assistant

Medium experience.  You have worked on jobs previously as a third assistant and are familiar with popular lighting sources, grip gear and nomenclature.  If called upon, you would be able to 1st assist if necessary.

 (click on name to send an email)

Aleks Tomaszewska 773-332-6011 N/A
Aaron Morganstein 773-750-7660 www.aaronmorganstein.com
Matthew Kutz 414-940-8375 N/A
John Laning 773-801-8171   N/A
Adam Daniels 813-361-2186 www.adamdaniels.com
Andrew Lawrence 217-257-3805 www.andrewlawrencephotography.com
Megan Von Schonhoff 847-707-2709 www.mschonhoffphoto.com
Natalie Probst 989-450-9719 www.natalieprobst.com
Christopher Semel 407-756-0441 www.christophersemel.com
Jeff Catt 281-732-5407 www.jeffcatt.com
Josh Marrah 765-437-6147 www.jwmarrah.com
Will Nunnally 757-660-9256 www.willnunnally.com
Carlos Soria 773-746-6979 www.carlossoria.com
Brandon Farrington 440-334-7098 www.brandonfarrington.com
Oopey Mason 802-238-0431 www.oopeyphoto.com
Chris Drake 540-320-8255 N/A
Michael R. Schmidt 847-769-3945 www.michaelrschmidtphotography.com
Whitney Hsieh 630-742-1574 www.whitneyhsiehphotography.com
Sam Phillipe 217-891-9433   N/A
Brad Knilans 440-308-7168   N/A
Hannah Fehrman 859-409-7227   www.hannahfehrman.com 
Christie Caputo 313-618-0894   www.christielynncaputo.com
Ben Pegram 630-306-1311   N/A
Powell Jordano 773-899-5376   www.powelljordano.com
Will Hartman 480-324-6261   N/A
Alison Boschert-Downs 513-519-9794   www.boschertdownsphotography.com
Brittany Purlee 812-279-0699   www.britography.com
Josh Beavers 864-607-0903   www.joshbeavers.com
Sean C. Collier 502-298-8654   www.seanccollier.com
Braden Nesin 773-769-7875   www.bradennesin.com
Brandon Fields 312-505-4028   www.bfieldsphoto.com
Anthony Soave 773-451-5437   www.anthonysoavephotography.com
Christopher Marrs 630-276-8922   www.christophermarrs.net
Gadi Solis 312-623-1185   www.gadisolis.com
Krysta Williams 773-343-5938   www.krystaannwilliams.com
Ryan Niven 847-791-4271   www.ryannivenphotography.com
Aaron Ehinger 773-949-7131   www.aaronehingerphotography.com
Jonathan Samaniego 813-898-7375   www.jonathansamaniego.com
Dan Herman 636-584-5224   www.dchermanphoto.com
Erica Jones 618-401-2404   www.ericaljones.com
Bradley Danner 772-485-3450   www.braddanner.com
Carrie Lejjena 417-813-9570   N/A
Kevin Serna 224-587-5755   www.kevinserna.net
Ryan Schorr 847-508-3519   www.ryanschorr.com
Jennifer Guitian 715-556-9087   www.jenniferguitianphoto.com
Melanie Bert 312-522-5712   www.melaniebert.com
Derek B. Smith 248-918-1603   www.derekbsmith.com

 

 

  3rd Assistant

Low experience.  You are breaking into the field or have assisted on some photo jobs.  You are learning the ins and outs of the profession and are able to take direction from 1st or 2nd assistants.  The positions are continually requested if there is no 2nd assistant and will work directly for the 1st assistant.

(click on name to send an email)

Joanna Aloysia 630-863-4858 www.joannaaloysia.com
Jessica Pierotti 614-582-6703 www.howcouldiknow.com
Jenny Reece 847-417-9734 http://jennyreecephoto.virb.com
Alica Griffeth 602-617-7622   www.aliciagriffeth.com
J Houston Cofield 901-262-6674   www.houstoncofield.com
Bryan Volta 513-240-2476   www.bryanvolta.com
Christopher Siler 314-799-9404   www.chrissilermedia.com
Ian Manger 480-330-6997   www.ianmanger.com
Joshua Smith 773-412-4712   N/A
Rachel Nurmi 860-990-9767   www.rachelnurmi.com
Kelly Fleming 616-204-6266   www.kellyflemingphotography.com
Denny Chan 312-622-7167   www.dcphotorific.com
Kelly Stulgis 708-639-0215
  www.kellystulgis.com
Nikki Segarra 617-694-1224   www.nikkisegarra.com
Kalyn Jacobs 708-305-2326   8027pictures.com
Mike Hammond 216-280-9143   www.mikekhammond.net
Patrick Burke 708-601-5086   www.patrick-burke.com
Ryan Barhaug 630-346-6852   www.ryanbarhaug.com
Albert Bracken 317-694-6335   www.albrackenphotography.com
Alex Williamson 817-733-9295   www.alexandriabwilliamson.com
Domonic Flournoy 708-265-8554   dmfphotoworks.smugmug.com
Elisha Knight 303-517-7122   www.elishaknight.com
Karl Solano 773-972-3034   www.karlsolano.com
Meli Rivera 773-540-0473   www.meliriveraphotography.com
Pappy Ratnayake 773-587-5146   www.declicimagesbypappy.com

 

 

4th Assistant

 

Willing to hustle and run for things.  Able to retrieve items as requested and does not need to be kept on a short leash.  Responds well to given commands by the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Assistants.  The fourth assistants bark is never worse than their bite.

(click on name to donate to ASPCA)

           Izzy

 

 

Hercules and Ninja

             photo                 Herc_Ninja

               

 

          Jax

 

Ruby

                   Jax                       Ruby

 

             Zoe    Eva        

              Zoe    eva2

 

                  Stache and Charlotte
   
      

           Char Stache

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

You are here: Home Resources Photo Assistants